Emilio Segre Distinguished Lectures in Physics Endowed by Raymond & Beverly Sackler

Preface First

This is a debugging block

Preface Second

This is a debugging block

Preface Third

This is a debugging block

Content

This is a debugging block

Professor Yaron Oz is the coordinator of the Emilio Segre Distinguished Lectures in Physics Endowed by Raymond & Beverly Sackler

  • Current Year

     

    Visitors for the Academic Year 2019/2020

    Name Institution Period of Visit Host

    Prof. Gian Francesco Giudice

    Head
    Theoretical Physics Department
    CERN
    Geneva, Switzerland

    Email: Gian.Giudice@cern.ch

    March
    18-22,
    2020
    postponed
     

    Host: Prof. Tomer 
    Volansky
    School of Physics and Astronomy

    Phone: +972-3- 6406373
    Email: tomerv@tauex.tau.ac.il

     

    Prof. Giovani Passaleva

    Head, LHCb collaboration in CERN
    Research Director
    INFN
    Firenze, Italy

    Email:Giovanni.passaleva@fi.inrn.it

     

    May
    1-5,
    2020
    postponed

     

    Host: Prof. Abner Soffer
    School of Physics and Astronomy

    Phone: +972-3-6406091​
    Email: asoffer@tauex.tau.ac.il

     

    Prof: Elias Kiritsis

    Department of Physics
    University of Crete
    Crete, Greece

    Email: kiritsis@physics.uoc.gr

     

    May, 16-20,2020
    ​postponed

    Host: Prof. Jacob Sonnenschein
    School of Physics and Astronomy

    Phone: +972-3-6407782
    ​Email: cobi@tauex.tau.ac.il

  • Past Fellows

     

    Name Institution Period of Visit Host

    Academic Year 2018/2019 Lecturers:

    Prof. Yifang Wang

    Director, The Institute of High Energy Physics (IHEP)
    Chinese Academy of Science
    Beijing, China

    Email: yfwang@ihep.ac.cn

    October 25, 2018 - November 2, 2018

    Host: Prof. Marek Karliner
    School of Physics 
    and Astronomy


    Phone: +972-3-6406373
    Email: 
    marek@tauex.tau.ac.il

    Prof. Sydney Gales

    Director of Research
    Institute de Physique Nucleaire Orsay
    Orsay, France

    Email: sydney.gales@eli-np.ro

    April  26-28, 2019

    Prof. Ishay Pomerantz 
    School of Physics and Astronomy

    Phone: +972-3-6407845
    Email: 
    ipom@post.tau.ac.il

     

    Prof. Yuval Grossman

    Department of physics
    Cornell University
    Ithaca, New York, USA

    Email: yg7373@gmail.com

    May 17 -19, 2019

    Host: Prof. Marek Karliner
    School of Physics 
    and Astronomy

    Phone: +972-3-6406373
    Email: 
    marek@tauex.tau.ac.il

    Prof. David Weinberg​

    Department of Astronomy Ohio State University
    McPherson Laboratory
    Columbus, Ohio,  USA

    Email: weinberg.21@osu.edu

    May 29 - June 3, 2019

    Host: Prof. Dan Maoz,
    Chair, School of Physics 
    and Astronomy
     

    Phone: +972-3-6408636
    Email: 
    maoz@astro.tau.ac.il

    Academic Year 2017/2018 Lecturers:

    Prof. Raja GuhaThakurta           Leora Batnitzky

    Department of Astronomy & Astrophysics,
    The University of California 
    Santa Cruz (UCSC) 
    Santa Cruz, USA

    Phone: +1 (831) 459 -5169
    Email: raja@ucolick.org

    January 13-18, 2018

    Host: Prof. Dan Maoz,
    Chair, School of Physics 
    and Astronomy

    Phone: +972-3-6408636
    Email: 
    maoz@astro.tau.ac.il

    Prof. Gerald Miller
    Chi-Wang Shu

    Department of Physics,
    University of Washington,
    Seattle, USA

    Phone: +1 - (206) 543-2995
    Email: miller@uw.edu

    March 1 - April 1,
    2018

    Host: Prof. Eliazer  Piasetzky 
    School of Physics and  Astronomy
     

    Phone: +972-3-640-9428
    Email: 
    eip@tauphy.tau.ac.il

    Prof. Michael Green

    Department of Mathematics
    Cambridge University

    Phone: +44 - 1223 - 330884
    Email: 
    m.b.green@damtp.cam.ac.uk

    March 23-31, 2018 

    Host: Prof. Cobi Sonnenschien,
    School of Physics and 
    Astronomy
     

    Phone: +972-3-640-7782
    Email: 
    cobi@post.tau.ac.il

    Prof. Vadim Kaplunovsky

    Department of Physics,
    College of Natural Sciences
    The University of Texas at Austin
    Texas, USA


    Phone: +1 (512) 471-4918
    Email: vadim@physics.utexas.edu

    May 27 - June 11, 2018

    Host: Prof. Cobi Sonnenschien,
    School of Physics and 
    Astronomy
     

    Phone: +972-3-640-7782
    Email: 
    cobi@post.tau.ac.

    Academic Year 2016/2017 Lecturers:

    Prof. Anthony Zee

    Kavli Institute
    for Theoretical Physics
    University of California
    Santa Barbara, CA, USA

    Phone: +1 (805) 893-4213
    Email: zeeitp@gmail.com

    May 24-26,
    2017

    Host: Prof. Marek Karliner
    School of Physics 
    and Astronomy
     

    Phone: +972-3-6409579
    Email: 
    marek@post.tau.ac.il

    Prof David Hogg


     

    Center for Cosmology and Particle Physics
    Department of Physics
    New York University
    New York, NY 10003,  USA

    Email: david.hogg@nyu.edu

    April 1-4,
    2017

    ​Host: Prof. Dan Maoz,
    Chair, School of Physics 
    and Astronomy

    Phone: +972-3-6408636
    Email: 
    maoz@astro.tau.ac.il

    Prof. Philip Candelas

    Mathematical Institute
    University of Oxford
    Woodstock Road
    Oxford , UK


    Phone: +44 (0)1865 - 615179
    Email: candelas@maths.ox.ac.uk

    May 25-30,
    2017

    Host: Prof. Cobi Sonnenschien,
    School of Physics and 
    Astronomy

    Phone: +972-3-640-7782
    Email: 
    cobi@post.tau.ac.il

    Prof. Janet Conrad

    Department of Physics
    Massachusetts Institute of Technology
    Cambridge, MA, USA

    Email: conrad@mit.edu

    June 6-15,
    2017

    Host: Prof. Eliazer  Piasetzky 
    School of Physics and  Astronomy

    Phone: +972-3-640-9428
    Email: 
    eip@tauphy.tau.ac.il

    Academic Year 2015/2016 Lecturers:

    Prof. Brice Menard


     

    Department of Physics and Astronomy
    Johns Hopkins University
    Bloomberg Center for Physics and Astronomy
    Baltimore, MD, USA

    Email: menard@jhu.edu

    December
    18-22
    2015

    ​Host: Prof. Dan Maoz,
    Chair, School of Physics 
    and Astronomy

    Phone: +972-3-6408636
    Email: 
    maoz@astro.tau.ac.il

     

    Prof. Beate Heinemann

    Department of Particle Physics
    University of California
    Berkeley, CA,  USA

    Email: bheheinemann@lbl.gov

    April 27 - May 3
    2016

    Host: Prof. Abner Soffer 
    School of Physics and  Astronomy

    Phone: +972-3-640-6091
    Email: asoffer@tau.ac.il

    Prof. Michael Peskin

    HEP Theory Group, MS 81
    SLAC National Accelerator Lab.
    Menlo Park, CA 94025 USA

    Phone + 1-(650)-926-3250
    Email: mpeskin@slac.stanford.edu

    May 5-8,
    2016

    Host: Prof. Abner Soffer 
    School of Physics and  Astronomy

    Phone: +972-3-640-6091
    Email: asoffer@tau.ac.i

     

     

    Prof. David Pine

    Chair, Department of Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering
     NYU Polytechnic School of     Engineering
    Silver Professor of Physics
    NYU College of Arts & Science
    New York University

    Phone  212-998-7744 (Manhattan)
    Email:  pine@nyu.edu


     

    May 24-
    ​June 7,
     2016
     

    Host: Prof. David Andelman
    School of Physics and  Astronomy

    Phone: +972-3-640-6091
    Email: 
    andelman@post.tau.ac.il

    Host: Dr. Yael Roichman
    School of Chemistry

    Phone: +972-3-640-5848
    Email:
    roichman@tau.ac.il

    Academic Year  2014/2015 Lecturers:

    Prof. Aharon Kapitulnik 

    Theodore and Sydney Rosenberg Professor in Applied Physics
    Geballe Laboratory for Advanced Materials McCullough building
    Stanford University
    Stanford, California,  USA

    Email: aharonk@stanford.edu

    December
    20, 2014 
    January 4,
    2015

    Host: Prof. Alexander Palevski
    Chairman, Department of Condensed Matter Physics
    School of Physics and Astronomy

    Phone:  +972-3-640-9428
    Email: 
    apalev@post.tau.ac.il

    Prof. Tim de Zeeuw

    Director General
    of the ESO European Southern Observatory  
    Karl-Schwarzschild-Strasse 2
    D-85748 Garching bei Muenchen
    Germany

    Email:  tdezeeuw@eso.org

    January
    24 - 26, 
    2015

    ​Host: Prof. Dan Maoz,
    Chair, School of Physics 
    and Astronomy

    Phone: +972-3-6408636
    Email: 
    maoz@astro.tau.ac.il

     

    Prof. Brian Foster

    Department of Physics
    University of Oxford
    Clarendon Laboratory
    Parks Road
    Oxford
    England 

    Email: 
    Brian.Foster@phisics.ox.ac.uk

    March
    12-16,
    2015

    Host: Prof. Aharon Levy
    School of Physics and Astronomy

    Phone: +972-3-6405173
    Email:  
    levyaron@post.tau.ac.il

    Prof. Jonathan Rosner

    Physics Department
    The Enrico Fermi Institute,
    and the College, 
    University of Chicago
    Chicago Il.,  USA

    Email: rosner@hep.uchicago.edu  

    May
    2-4,
    2015

    Host: Prof. Aharon Levy
    School of Physics and Astronomy

    Phone: +972-3-6405173
    Email:  
    levyaron@post.tau.ac.il

     

    Academic Year 2013/2014 Lecturers:

    Prof. Frank Shu

    Department of physics 
    National Tsing Hua University
    Hsinchu City, Taiwan

    Email: shu@phys.nthu.edu.tw

    January
    11- 17,
    ​2014

    Prof. Avraham Carmeli
    Coller School of Management

    Phone: +972-3-640-6335
    Email: 
    avic@tauex.tau.ac.il

    Prof. Ludwik Leibler

    Soft Matter and Chemistry Laboratory
    Ecole Supérieure de Physique et Chimie Industrielles (ESPCI)
    Paris, France

    Email: Ludwik.Leibler@espcifr

    February 20-28, 2014

    Host: Prof. David Andelman
    ​Head, School of Physics and Astronomy

    Phone: +972-3-6407239
    Email:
    andelman@tauex.tau.ac.il

    Prof. Nicholas Manton

    Department of Applied Mathematics and Theoretical Physics 
    University of Cambridge
    Center for Mathematical Sciences
    Cambridge, UK

    ​Email: N.S.Manton@damtp.cam.ac.uk

    May
    2-8,
    2014

    Host:  Prof. Marek Karliner
    School of Physics
    and Astronomy

    Phone: +972-3-6406373
    Email: 
    marek@tauex.tau.ac.il

     

    Prof. Gerald Gabrielse

    Department of Physics,
    ​University of Harvard
    Cambridge, USA

    Email: gabrielse@physics.harvard.edu

    May
    9-15,
    2014

    Host: Prof. Abner Soffer
    Head of the Department of Particle Physics

    Phone: +972-3-640-6091​Email: asoffer@tau.ac.il

     

    Academic Year 2012/2013 Lecturers:

    Prof. Claudio Bunster

    Director
    Centro de Estudios 
    Cienti´ficos (CES) 
    Valdivia
    Chile

    Email: bunster@cecs.cl

    May 2013

    Host: Prof. Yaron Oz
    School of Physics 
    and Astronomy

     

    Phone: +972-3- 6406373
    Email: 
    yaronoz@tauex.tau.ac.il

    Prof. Krishna Rajagopal

    Department of Physics,
    and Associate Head for 
    Education,
    MIT
    Cambridge, Massachusetts
    USA

    Email:krishna@MIT.EDU

    May 2013

    Host:  Prof. Marek Karliner
    School of Physics
    and Astronomy

    Phone: +972-3-6406373
    Email: 
    marek@tauex.tau.ac.il

     

    Prof. Csaba Csaki

    Department of Physics
    Cornell University
    Ithaca
    USA

    Email:csaki@cornell.edu

    May 2013

    Host: Prof. Tomer 
    Volansky
    School of Physics and Astronomy

    Phone: +972-3- 6406373
    Email: 
    tomerv@tauex.tau.ac.il

    Prof. Andrew Gould

    Thomas Jefferson Professor 
    for Discovery and Space 
    Exploration
    Department of Astronomy
    Ohio State University
    USA

    Email:gould@astronomy.ohio-state.edu

    May 2013

    ​Host: Prof. Dan Maoz,
    Chair, School of Physics 
    and Astronomy

    Phone: +972-3-6408636
    Email: 
    maoz@astro.tau.ac.il

     

    Academic Year 2011/2012 Lecturers:

    Prof. Christopher McKee

    Interim Dean, Professor Emeritus  
    Department of Physics                Professor Emeritus of Astronomy, Physics                                      Department of Astronomy        Berkeley, CA, USA

    Phone: +1 (510) 642-0805
    Email: cmckee@berkeley.edu

    December 15-21,     2011

    Host: Prof. Tomer 
    Volansky
    School of Physics and Astronomy

    Phone: +972-3- 6406373
    Email: 
    tomerv@tauex.tau.ac.il

     

    Prof. Tom Banks

    Professor of Physics                       
    UC Santa Cruz, CA, USA 

    Phone: +1 (831) 459-4297               ​Email: banks@scipp.ucsc.edu  

     

    Professor of Physics                           Department of Physics and Astronomy Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, USA           
    Phone: +1 (848) 445-9064       Email: tibanks@ucsc.edu         

     

    March 24-27,     
    2012

    Host: Prof. Tomer 
    Volansky
    School of Physics and Astronomy

    Phone: +972-3- 6406373
    Email: 
    tomerv@tauex.tau.ac.il

     

    Prof. Gabriele Veneziano

    Chair of Elementary Particles, Gravitation, and Cosmology   
    Professor of Physics                   
    College de France                         
    Paris, France 

    Email: Gabriele.Veneziano@college-de-france.fr      

    April 24-30,     
    2012

    Host: Prof. Yaron Oz
    School of Physics 
    and Astronomy

     

    Phone: +972-3- 6406373
    Email:
    yaronoz@tauex.tau.ac.il

     

    Academic Year 2010/2011 Lecturers:

    Prof. Hans Walter Rix

    Director, Department Galaxies and Cosmology
    Max Planck Institute for Astronomy, Heidelberg, Germany


    Phone: +49 6221 528-210
    ​Email: rix@mpia.de      

    December 11-15,     2010

    ​Host: Prof. Dan Maoz,
    Chair, School of Physics 
    and Astronomy

    Phone: +972-3-6408636
    Email: 
    maoz@astro.tau.ac.il

     

    Prof. Berndt Mueller

    James B. Duke Professor
    Director of the Center for Theoretical and Mathematical Sciences
    Duke University, Durham, USA

    Phone: +1 (919) 660-2570
    Email: muller@phy.duke.edu 

     

    Associate Laboratory Director for Nuclear and Particle Physics
    Brookhaven National Laboratory 
    Upton, New York, USA

    Phone: +1 (631) 344-5397
    Email: bmueller@bnl.gov  

    May 28-31,     2011

    Host: Prof. Benjamin Svetitsky
    School of Physics
    and Astronomy

     

    Phone: +972-3- 6408870
    Email:
    bqs@julian.tau.ac.il

    Academic Year 2009/2010 Lecturers:

    Prof. Jeremiah Ostriker

    Charles A. Young Professor Emeritus Department of Astrophysical Sciences Princeton University, New Jersey, USA

    Phone: +1 (609) 258-4267
    Email: ostriker@princeton.edu 

    December 18-24,     2009

    ​Host: Prof. Dan Maoz,
    Chair, School of Physics 
    and Astronomy

    Phone: +972-3-6408636
    Email: 
    maoz@astro.tau.ac.il

     

    Prof. Wolfram Weise

    TUM Emeritus of Excellence
    Faculty of Physics

    Technical University of Munich (TUM), Germany

    Phone: +49 (0)89 289-12351
    Email: weise@ph.tum.de 

    April 20 - May 2,     2010

    Host:  Prof. Marek Karliner
    School of Physics
    and Astronomy

    Phone: +972-3-6406373
    Email: 
    marek@tauex.tau.ac.il

     

    Prof. Herbert Neuberger

    Distinguished Professor of Physics and Astronomy
    Rutgers University, New Jersey, USA

    Phone: +1 (848) 445-8966
    Email: neuberg@physics.rutgers.edu 

    May 7-17,     2010

    Host:  Prof. Marek Karliner
    School of Physics
    and Astronomy

    Phone: +972-3-6406373
    Email: 
    marek@tauex.tau.ac.il

    Academic Year 2008/2009 Lecturers:

    Prof. Shrinivas R. Kulkarni 

    The George Ellery Hale Professor of Astronomy and Planetary Science
    The Division of Physics, Mathematics and Astronomy
    Caltech, Pasadena, CA, USA

    Phone: +1 (626) 395-4010
    Email: srk@astro.caltech.edu

    December
    19-22,     
    2008

    ​Host: Prof. Dan Maoz,
    Chair, School of Physics 
    and Astronomy

    Phone: +972-3-6408636
    Email: 
    maoz@astro.tau.ac.il

    Prof. Erich Vogt 

    Professor of Physics
    Department of Physics and Astronomy University of British Columbia, Canada

    Email: vogt@triumf.ca

     

    January
    16-27,     
    2009

    Host: Prof. Daniel Ashery
    School of Physics
    and Astronomy

    Phone: +972-3-6407417
    Email: 
    ashery@post.tau.ac.il

    Prof. Louis Lyons 

    Professor Emeritus in Physics
    Department in Physics 

    Oxford University, Oxford, UK

    Email: Louis.Lyons@physics.ox.ac.uk 

    March
    11-25,     
    2009

    Host: Prof. Erez Etzion
    School of Physics
    and Astronomy

    Phone: +972-3-6406546
    Email: 
    ereze@tauex.tau.ac.il

Postscript First

This is a debugging block

Postscript Second

This is a debugging block

Postscript Third

This is a debugging block

Postscript Fourth

This is a debugging block