About Sackler Scholars

Preface First

This is a debugging block

Preface Second

This is a debugging block

Preface Third

This is a debugging block


This is a debugging block

updated: 23.05.2021

  • About


    The Mortimer and Raymond Sackler Institute of Advanced Studies promotes and supports visits at Tel Aviv University by eminent experts in different academic fields from outside the University.

    The Institute recognizes two types of visitors.

    1. Sackler Lecturers are invited for a period of 1-2 weeks and are expected to deliver a few lectures during their visit.
    2. Sackler Fellows are visitors who stay at the University for a period of 1-3 months for the primary purpose of interacting with Faculty members and graduate students. They are free of the regular responsibilities of visiting faculty members, including teaching, lecturing, or administrative duties. Although, most of our guests have chosen to give a few lectures in their field of expertise. The lectures are frequently the highlight of the semester and attended by academics from all over Israel.  


  • Current Year


    Name Institution Period of Visit Host

    Sackler Fellows 2020/2021:


    Sackler Lecturers 2020/2021:

    Prof. Elijah Millgram

    Philosophy Department
    University of Utah
    Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

    Email: elijah.millgram@gmail.com

    April 19 - June 18,

    Host: Prof. Eli Dresner
    Department of philosophy
    Tel: 972-3-6405034

    Email: dresner@tauex.tau.ac.il

    Prof. Efraim Benmelech

    Finance Department
    Kellogg School of Management
    Northwestern University
    Evanston, Illinois, USA


    A week, Autumn

    Host: Prof. Nittai K. Bergman

    Berglas School of Economics

    Tel: 972-3-640 6232

    Email: nbergman@tauex.tau.ac.il

    Prof. David Dean

    Head, Theory Group
    Laboratorie d’Ondes et Matière d’Aquitaine
    The University of Bordeaux
    Bordeaux, France

    Email: david.dean@u-bordeaux.fr

    February - March,

    Host: Prof. Haim Diamant
    School of Chemistry
    Tel:972-3- 640 6967

    Email: hdiamant@tauex.tau.ac.il

    Prof. Andrew Ewald

    Departments of Cell Biology, Oncology
    and Biomedical Engineering
    Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
    855 N. Wolfe St, Rangos 452
    Center for Cell Dynamics
    Baltimore, MD 21205

    Email: andrew.ewald@jhmi.edu


    March, 2021

    Host: Prof. Ronen Zaidel-Bar
    Dept. of Cell and Developmental Biology
    Sackler School of Medicine
    Tel: 972-3-6406781 

    Email: zaidelbar@gmail.com

    Prof. Steve Granick

    IBS Center for Soft and Living Matter
    Republic of Korea

    Email: sgranick@gmail.com


    Prof. Yael Roicman
    School of Chemistry
    Tel:  +972-3-6405848

    Email: roichman@tauex.tau.ac.il

    Professor Ralph Etienne-Cummings

    Chair Department of Electrical
    and Computer Engineering
    Johns Hopkins University
    Baltimore,  Maryland, USA

    Email: retienne@jhu.edu

    Second Semester

    Host: Prof. Israel Gannot
    Faculty of Engineering
    Tel: 972-3-6407939

    Email: gannoti@tauex.tau.ac.il

    Prof. Nathalie A Sims

    Deputy Director, St Vincent's Institute
    of Medical Research
    Unit Head, Bone Cell Biology and Disease Unit
    Professorial Fellow, The University of Melbourne 

    Email: nsims@svi.edu.au


    Hosts: Prof. Drorit Neumann
    Head, Dr. Miriam & Sheldon G. Adelson
    School of Graduate Studies
    Sackler Faculty of Medicine
    Tel: 973-3-640-7256

    Email: histo6@tauex.tau.ac.il


    Host: Dr. Yankel Gabet
    Department of Anatomy & Anthropology
    Sackler Faculty of Medicine
    ​Tel: 973-3-640-7684

    ​Email: yankel@tauex.tau.ac.il

    Mr. Nick Vallelonga

    Actor, screenwriter, producer, and film director
    Vallelonga Productions
    Los Angeles, USA



    Hosts: Prof. Raz Yosef
    Head, The school of Film and Television
    Faculty of Arts

    Ms.Talia Wigoder and  Ms. Mya Kaplan
    Tel-Aviv International Student Film
    Festival directors

    Prof.  Peter J. Basser

    Associate Scientific Director
    Senior Investigator, NICHD
    Section on Quantitative Imaging
    and Tissue Sciences
    Division of Imaging, Behavior
    and Genomic Integrity NIH
    Bethesda, Maryland, USA

    Email: pjbasser@helix.nih.gov

    Two weeks, twice

    Host: Prof. Nir Sochen
    Department of Applied Mathematics
    School of Mathematical Sciences
    Tel: 972-3-6409622

    Email: sochen@tauex.tau.ac.il

    Dr. Javier Tiffenberg

    Associate Scientist 
    Fermilab Particle Physics Division 
    Batavia, Illinois, USA

    Email: javiert@fnal.gov

    Two weeks

    Host: Dr. Liron Barak
    School of Physics & Astronomy
    Tel: 972-3-6408334

    Email: lironbarak1@mail.tau.ac.il

    Prof. Edward Melanson

    Division of Endocrinology, Diabetes
    and Metabolism
    Division of Geriatric Medicine
    University of Colorado
    Anschutz Medical Campus
    Aurora, Colorado, USA


    A week

    Host: Dr. Yiftach Gepner
    Department of Epidemiology
    and Preventive Medicine
    School of Public Health
    Sackler Faculty of Medicine 
    Tel: 972-3-073-3804427

    Email: gepner@tauex.tau.ac.il

  • Next Year


    Name Institution Period of Visit Host

    Sackler Fellows 2021/2022:

    Prof. Susan B. Davidson

    Weiss Professor
    Department of Computer and Information Science
    University of Pennsylvania
    Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, USA

    Email: susan@cis.upenn.edu

    October-December, 2021

    Host: Prof. Tova Milo
    Chair, Information Management
    School of Computer Science
    Tel: 972-3-640-6075

    Email: milo@cs.tau.ac.il

    Prof. Martin Yarmush

    Professor in the department of 
    biomedical of engineering
    Rutgers University
    NJ,  USA

    Senior Lectureship
    Surgery and bioengineering
    Harvard Medical School

    Email:  yarmush@soe.rutgers.edu

    April 3 - June 26,

    Host: Dr. Alexander Golberg
    Senior Lecturer
    Porter School of Environmental
    and Earth Sciences
    Faculty of Exact Sciences
    Tel: +972-3-6407182

    Email: agolberg@gmail.com

    Prof. Glenn W. Most

    Faculty of Humanities
    Scuola Normale Superiore
    Committee on Social Thought
    The University of Chicago

    Email: glenn.most@sns.it


    Six weeks

    Host: Prof. Orna Harari 
    The Head of the Department of Classics
    ​Tel: +972-3-6409779


    Prof. Shaul Katzir
    Director of the Cohn Institute for the History
    and Philosophy of Science and Ideas

    Tel: +972-073-3804526
    Email: skatzir@post.tau.ac.il

    Prof. Yaacob Dweck

    Department of History and Judaic Studies
    Princeton University
    Princeton, New Jersey, USA

    Email: jdweck@princeton.edu

    A month

    Host: Prof. Ishay Rosen-Zvi
    Department of Jewish Philosophy and Talmud
    School of Jewish Studies and Archaeology
    Tel: 972-3-6409954

    Email: rosenzvi@post.tau.ac.il


    Sackler Lecturers 2021/2022:

    Prof.  Catherine Coquio 


    Department of Comparative Literature
    Centre d’Etudes et de Recherches Interdisciplinaires de Littérature et Cinéma
    Université Denis-Diderot
    ​(Paris 7)
    Paris, France


    October 25 -
    November 8,

    Host: Michele Kahan
    Shirley and Leslie Porter School of Cultural Studies
    Faculty of Humanities


    Prof. Antonio Panaino

    Department of Cultural Heritage
    University of Bologna
    Ravenna, Italy

    Email: antonio.panaino@unibo.it


    December 2021

    Host: Dr. Domenico Agostini
    Department of History
    Tel: 972-3-6406806

    Email: agostini@tauex.tau.ac.il

Postscript First

This is a debugging block

Postscript Second

This is a debugging block

Postscript Third

This is a debugging block

Postscript Fourth

This is a debugging block